SVS Club Open Snooker Championship 2019

Chennai, 9th May 2019: Suguna Vilasa Sabha, established in 1891 as a theatre company transformed into a social and sports club. With a tradition of over 127 years, the clubs infrastructure includes Crucible Billiards Hall, Gymnasium, Cricket Nets, Swimming Pool, Table Tennis, Badminton, Library, air-conditioned deluxe rooms in addition to an open theatre cum lawn and a full fledged canteen serving vegetarian and non-vegetarian food

SVS Club members M Rajendran and Vinay Kothari are jointly holding the SVS Club Open Snooker Championship 2019 in memory of their respective father Late Mr. N Manimaran and Late Mr Kishan Kothari. Both M Rajendran and Vinay Kothari are active snooker players at the club. The tournament attracted more than 128 players and we had to restrict entries. The tournament is conducted under the auspices of Tamilnadu Billiards and Snooker Association

The tournament is witnessing some of the leading snooker players in India including Yogesh Kumar, Anuj Uppal, Railways players like Rafath Habib, Girish, Arvind Kumar, Pandurangaiah, Faisal Khan, Dilip kumar, Nitesh Madan, Venkatesham, Peter Paul etc.

Tamilnadu is represented by Prem Prakash, SA Saleem, Varun Kumar, Mustaq, Naveen, S Shrikrishna, R Loganathan, Prabhu, Vijay Nichani etc. SVS Club is represented by Vinay Kothari, M Rajendran and a few other members. Being a gender neutral sport, the tournament witnesses Neena Praveen., Anupama R and S Manasvini from Tamilnadu

There are more than 34 players coming from outstation including as far away from New Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Telengana and Karnataka in addition to Madurai, Salem, Čoimbatore, Erode, Karur, Dharmapuri etc from within

The tournament is a 15 red snooker, knockout format of 128 players. Til the round of 64 it would be best of 5 frames. The round of 32 and pre-quarterfinals would be best of 7 frames. The quarterfinals and the semifinals would be best of 9 frames. The final would be best of 11 frames. The referees are all experienced State, National and International referees. The Chief Referee is Mr. R B Ganesh who is Gold Class in ACBS and Class 1 IBSF Referee

As an innovative initiative, and to encourage big breaks, 3 top highest breaks above 100+ are included prize money of Rs 5000/- Rs 3000/- and Rs 2000/- respectively., The Prize Money (taxes as applicable) is as under Winner: Rs. 60,000/-, Runner-up: Rs 30,000/-, Semi-finalists: Rs. 15,000/- each, Quarter-finalists: Rs. 7,500/- each, re-quarterfinals: Rs. 3,000/- each, Top 3 Highest Break 100+: Rs. 5,000/-, Rs. 3,000/- & Rs. 2,000/-The Rules& Guidelines are as per BSFI

Keeping in perspective the sport and also the club’s decorum, the dress code is Formal Shirt or Plain T-shirt, Formal Trouser and Formal Shoes

The sponsors and the club have ensured the best playing conditions. The tables have been stitched with new Strachan 6811 30oz Tournament Gold. Also, new Aramith 1G Balls sets are being provided for the tournament. The floor has permanent high quality carpet and the air-conditioners are serviced and very well maintained. The room can seat about 30 spectators in addition to the players. There are gifts and conveniences planned for the players both in cash and kind